Sacramento Mile History

Carroll Resweber won the very first AMA Grand National at the Sacramento MiLe on July 19, 1959.

Carroll Resweber won the very first AMA Grand National at the Sacramento Mile on July 19, 1959.

This race returned in 2011 after a 12-year absence and has once again stamped itself as one of the most intriguing events on the schedule. On May 21, 2016, the AMA Pro Grand National Championship will make its second West Coast stop at the famous Sacramento Mile in Sacramento, Calif. Fans have witnessed the power of Bryan Smith’s Kawasaki lead him to five dominating victories at this particular venue and he will be gunning for a record sixth consecutive win in as many years on this go-around.

The Sacramento area has long been a hotbed of flat track racing. Local riders include: Briar Bauman (Salinas), Steve Bonsey (Salinas), Dominic Colindres (Brisbane), Chad Cose (Fremont), Mikey Martin (Lodi), Shaun Russell (San Jose), Mike Rush (Hollister).

Sacramento Mile All-Time Grand National Wins Leaders
1. Scott Parker                   13 wins
2. Chris Carr                        9
3. Bubba Shobert               5
4. Bryan Smith                   5
5. (tie) Fred Nix                 2
5. (tie) George Roeder      2
5. (tie) Hank Scott             2

Sacramento Mile Grand National Wins by Manufacturer
1. Harley-Davidson          37
2. Honda                              5
3. Triumph                          4
4. Kawasaki                         4

Sacramento Mile Pro Singles Wins by Manufacturer
1. Honda                              3

Sacramento Mile All-Time Pro Single Wins Leaders
1. Shayna Texter                2
2. Michael Martin             1

Sacto Mile Facts
— First AMA Grand National held on July 19, 1959 won by Carroll Resweber (Harley-Davidson)

— There have been 49 AMA Grand Nationals held on the Sacramento Mile with 19 different winners.

— Michigan riders lead the way with 19 Sacramento Mile wins. California riders are second with 14.

— Bryan Smith has won five straight Sacramento Miles.

— Scott Parker and Chris Carr have each won three straight Sacramento Miles.

— Sacramento Miles through 1970 were held at the Old California State Fairgrounds.

— AMA Grand National races at the present Cal Expo track began in 1978.

— The Sacramento Mile hosted two nationals (spring and fall) from 1984 to 1994.

— The Sacramento Mile is considered one of most challenging Miles on the AMA calendar for the riders due to its long straights and tight corners.